Charlotte, North Carolina (December 16, 2021) – The 2021 Duke’s Mayo Bowl today released the official All-Bowl Teams of the first two decades to mark the 20th anniversary of the bowl game this month. The teams were selected by a committee that included bowl officials and local media members who have covered all the games.

The Duke’s Mayo Bowl has showcased some of the greatest bowl performances ever, starting with Virginia running back Wali Lundy’s 200 yards of total offense and four touchdowns in the inaugural game in 2002. Georgia’s Nick Chubb rushed for a bowl record 266 yards in 2014. North Carolina’s Hakeem Nicks (2008), Texas A&M’s Christian Kirk (2017) and Virginia’s Olamide Zaccheaus (2018) each recorded three touchdown games. And Dak Prescott led Mississippi State to a win in 2015 with 380 passing yards and four touchdowns.

Three MVPs have come from the defensive side of the ball, including Wisconsin’s Jack Sanborn last year. NC State’s Mario Williams (2005) had seven tackles (four for a loss) and two sacks in his final college game before becoming the first pick in the NFL Draft.

“We are delighted to recognize the outstanding players and performances of the Duke’s Mayo Bowl,” said Executive Director Danny Morrison. “As we celebrate the 20th anniversary of the game, it is important to reflect upon the players that have contributed to its rich history. We are proud to honor the All-Bowl Teams from our first two decades.”


All-Duke’s Mayo Bowl Team (2002-2010)

QB    Matt Schaub                          Virginia               2002, 03    ‘03 MVP, 20-31 for 244 yards, TD

RB    Wali Lundy                             Virginia               2002, 03    ‘02 MVP, 22 rushes for 127 yds., 5 rec. for 76 yds., 4 TDs

RB    Andre Callender                   Boston College  2004           26 rushes for 174 yards, TD

WR   Hakeem Nicks                       North Carolina  2008           8 catches for 217 yards, 3 TDs

WR   Kenneth Moore                    Wake Forest      2007           11 catches for 112 yards in win

TE     Heath Miller                          Virginia               2002, 03    two wins, 7 rec. for 138 yds. and 1 TD

OL    D’Brickashaw Ferguson       Virginia               2002, 03    two wins, helped UVA average 35.5 ppg.

OL    Jeremy Trueblood                Boston College  2004           Helped BC average 5.0 yards per rush in win

OL    Gosder Cherilus                    Boston College  2004, 06    Helped BC to 2 victories

OL    Steve Justice                          Wake Forest      2007           All-American center led Wake to win

OL    Jason Pinkston                      Pittsburgh          2009           Paved way for Dion Lewis to gain 159 yards and MVP

DL    Mario Williams                     NC State             2005           7 tackles, 4 for loss, 2 sacks in shutout

DL    Jabaal Sheard                        Pittsburgh          2009           Three tackles, 1 sack in win

DL    John McCargo                       NC State             2005           Helped earn first shutout in game history

DL    B.J. Raji                                   Boston College  2006           Helped BC defeat Navy

LB     Stephen Tulloch                    NC State             2005           MVP, 15 tackles, 3 sacks, 1 fumble recovery

LB     Jolonn Dunbar                      Boston College  2006           MVP, 14 tackles, 4 for loss, 1 sack, 1 fumble recovery

LB     Stanley Arnoux                     Wake Forest      2007           8 tackles, 1 sack and 1 interception in win

CB    Adam Jones                           West Virginia     2002           Helped hold UVA to 17 completions for 196 yards

CB    Mike Jenkins                         South Florida     2005           Helped hold NC St. to 127 yards passing

S       Da’Norris Searcy                   North Carolina  2008           10 tackles and 2 sacks

S       Garland Heath                      NC State             2005           5 tackles, 1 sack and a pass deflected in shutout

P       Andy Lee                                Pittsburgh          2003           49.5 yard average on 2 punts

K       Dan Hutchins                        Pittsburgh          2009           Made 4 of 5 field goals including GW with 0:52

RET  Larry Taylor                           Connecticut       2007           68 yard punt return TD, only UConn TD of game


All-Duke’s Mayo Bowl Team (2011-2020)

QB    Dak Prescott                          Mississippi State                   2015 MVP, 25-42 for 380 yards, 4 TDs

RB    Nick Chubb                            Georgia               2014           MVP, 33 rushes for 266 yards, 2 TDs

RB    Matt Colburn II                     Wake Forest      2017           150 yards and 1 TD, 7.1 average, in win

WR   Christian Kirk                         Texas A&M        2017           13 catches for 189 yards, 3 TDs

WR   Olamide Zaccheaus              Virginia               2018           MVP, 12 receptions for 100 yards, 3 TDs

TE     Travis Kelce                            Cincinnati           2012           5 catches for 123 yards, 1 TD

OL    Jonathan Cooper                  North Carolina  2013           Helped UNC gain 174 yards rushing in win

OL    Joe Thuney                            NC State             2015           Helped NC St. average 5.4 yards per play in loss

OL    Garrett Bradbury                 NC State             2015           Helped NC St. average 5.4 yards per play in loss

OL    Entire line                              Georgia               2014           Helped UGA average 5.9 yards per carry on 52 rushes

DL    Mike Rose                              NC State             2015           7 solo tackles in loss

DL    Ray Drew                               Georgia               2014           7 tackles and 1 sack in win

DL    Kingsley Keke                        Texas A&M        2017           9 tackles in loss

DL    Wendell Dunn                       Wake Forest      2017           8 tackles, 1 sack and a forced fumble in win

LB     Jack Sanborn                         Wisconsin          2020           MVP, 11 tackles and an interception in win

LB     Raynard Ashby, Alan Tisdale  Virginia Tech  2019           14 tackles each

LB     Greg Blair                               Cincinnati           2012           15 tackles, one forced fumble and recovery

CB    Jared Collins                          Arkansas            2016           12 tackles, including 8 solo, in loss

CB    Debione Renfro                    Texas A&M        2017           11 tackles, 9 solo and 1 forced fumble

S       David Amerson                     NC State             2011           2 interceptions, 65-yard interception return TD

S       Dominick Sanders                Georgia               2014           2 interceptions in win

P       Will Monday                         Duke                   2012           79-yard punt

K       Mike Weaver                        Wake Forest      2017           Made 2 of 3 FGs and all 7 PATs in win

RET  Ryan Switzer                          North Carolina  2013           MVP, 86 yd punt return TD, 113 total yards


The first bowl game to call the Carolinas home, the Duke’s Mayo Bowl was founded in 2002. This year features the University of North Carolina Tar Heels facing the University of South Carolina Gamecocks on Thursday, December 30th at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, N.C. with an 11:30 a.m. kickoff. Tickets may be purchased through Ticketmaster at

This is the second year with Carolinas-founded Duke’s Mayonnaise as the title sponsor. The partnership with Duke’s Mayonnaise, a staple in southern recipes for over 100 years, was announced last summer. Previous title sponsors were Belk (2011-2019), Meineke Car Care Centers (2005-2010) and Continental Tire North America (2002-2004).